Young Scientist Award

Five prizes for young authors presenting the best contributed papers have been awarded (one award per subject category). Each award consists of a cash grant, a plaque and a certificate and has been presented at the closing session of the conference.

The eligibility criteria were:

  1. Having the status of a student, a Ph. D. student or post-doctoral scientist with a maximum of three years after passing the Ph.D.
  2. Attending the conference as presenting author of an accepted contribution (oral or poster).
  3. High level research results, as well as excellent performance in the presentation.
The selection committee consisted of the eleven members of the International Programme Committee.

The Winners are:

Carol Gardiner, Department of Physics, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
for the contribution (poster B-234):
Evidence for a Dynamic Jahn-Teller Effect in PrO2

Jochen Gutmann, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Cornell University, Bard Hall, Ithaca, NY, 14853, USA
for the contribution (poster C-79):
Film thickness dependence of structure formation in ultra-thin polymer blend films

Mamoun Medraj, McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
for the contribution (poster B-175):
The Equilibria in the AlN-Al2O3-Y2O3 Ternary System - Thermodynamic and Neutron Diffraction

Vanessa Peterson, University of Technology, Sydney, Australia
for the contribution (poster A-213):
Rietveld refinement of neutron, synchrotron and combined powder diffraction data of cement clinker

Christian Rüegg, Laboratory for Neutron Scattering, ETHZ & PSI, CH-5232 Villigen, Switzerland
for the contribution (talk T-4):
Spin dynamics in the high-field phase of quantum critical S=1/2 TlCuCl3

From left to right: Robert Cywinski (ENSA chairman), Jochen Gutmann, Mamoun Medraj, Vanessa Peterson, Christian Rüegg, Winfried Petry (chairman ICNS2001)